Fifteenth Annual Cleveland Collegiate Regatta

March 25, 2017

Below are the results from the annual Cleveland Collegiate Regatta (name changed from the Home Schools Regatta in 2011). The race is held as a tune up each spring for the college teams rowing out of the Cleveland Rowing Foundation boathouse: Case Western Reserve University and John Carroll University. Cleveland State University did not participate this year.

This year there were seven races with six of those races counting toward the Cleveland Cup. The racecourse was held in dual-format, which is two boats side-by-side. The race also followed an interpretation of “Oxbridge” rules, which provides for safety as boats make turns. The overall course was approximately 1,500m, and was run from the NS1 railroad bridge at the mouth of the Cuyahoga, and was finished at the Merwin’s Wharf docks at Rivergate Park.

The two lanes were determined by coin flip, called by each club president during the Coaches and Coxswains briefing. Staggers were assigned to each lane, depending on the size of each boat.

Cleveland Collegiate Regatta web site

Cleveland Collegiate Regatta Cup Results:

Case Crew6
John Carroll0


Home Schools 2017

Team photo at the 2017 Cleveland Collegiate Regatta
Click here for some more photos from the race in the photo gallery.

Race Results:

Event:West Lane:City Lane:Results:Margin @ Finish:Race Video:
Women's Varsity 8+JCUCaseCWRU over JCU25 seconds 
Men's Varsity 8+CaseJCUCWRU over JCU32 secondsVideo
Novice 4+ (Exhibition)Case-MCase-WMen over Women1min + 6 length stagger 
Women's Novice 8+CaseJCUCWRU over JCU54 secondsVideo
Men's Varsity 4+CaseJCUCWRU over JCU14 secondsVideo
Men's JV 4+CaseJCUCWRU over JCU20 secondsVideo
Women's Varsity 4+JCUCaseCWRU over JCU3.8 secondsVideo 1
Video 2
Video 3
Video 4

Past Trophy Winners

2016: Case Western Reserve University(Results)
2015: Case Western Reserve University(Results)
2014: Case Western Reserve University(Results)
2013: Case Western Reserve University(Results)
2012: Case Western Reserve University(Results)
2011: John Carroll University(Results)
2010: John Carroll University(Results)
2009: Cleveland State University(Results)
2008: Case Western Reserve University(Results)
2007: Case Western Reserve University(Results)
2006: Case Western Reserve University(Results)
2005: John Carroll University(Results)
2004: John Carroll University(Results)
2003: John Carroll University(Results)
Send mail to the webmaster with questions or comments about this web site.
S.A.R.A. is an independent, not for profit 501(c)(3) corporation.
© Spartan Alumni Rowing Association
Last modified: March 28, 2017