1996 Head of the Cuyahoga Regatta

Location:   Cleveland, Ohio
Date:   September 21, 1996
Course:   Cuyahoga River - 2.5 miles down stream from the LTV turn basin to the Carter Road bridge

Cleveland held its first annual Head of the Cuyahoga Rowing Regatta. Competing crews came from Dayton, Columbus, Pittsburgh, and Cleveland. Click here to see the winners from each event (pdf) as listed in the the Cleveland Plain Dealer.
Click here for Full Regatta Results.


Cuyahoga 1996

CWRU President, Agnar Pytte, came down to the regatta to meet the team. His name graces the bow of the team's first-ever shell. In the photo from left to right: John Calhoun, Dan Bachmann, Glynis Lough (back to camera), Agnar Pytte (in the sport coat), Mark Lemkuhle (between the hands), Davian Kaplan (shaking hands), and Brad Krock.

Click here for some more photos from the race in the photo gallery.

Race Results

Women's Racing

Men's Racing

Women's Open 8+
1. John Carroll University - A 14:39.90
2. Case Western Reserve University 15:01.58
3. John Carroll University - B 15:30.67
Men's Open 4+
1. St. Ignatius HS (Cleveland) 13:37.65
2. Greater Columbus Rowing Association 14:05.22
3. Case Western Reserve University - B 14:24.01
4. Case Western Reserve University - A NTT
Men's Open 1x
1. Doug Rathburn - CWRU 15:39.97
2. Dan Ricchiuti - JCU 16:13.85
3. Craig Agricola - CWRU 16:38.64
4. University of Dayton NTT
Send mail to the webmaster with questions or comments about this web site.
© Spartan Alumni Rowing Association
S.A.R.A. is an independent, not for profit 501(c)(3) corporation.
Last modified: January 3, 2018