SARA Spartan of the Year


In 2015 the Spartan Alumni Rowing Association instituted the Spartan of the Year award to be presented annually at the alumni dinner. The award is given to a student(s) who exemplifies the best attributes of a student athlete, but also is mindful and supportive of the alumni. The award is jointly decided by the alumni and coaching staff.

The bronze Spartan helmet itself was acquired from a gallery in Athens, Greece by Doug and Erynn Rathburn. The mounting and presentation were done by Dan and Gina Bachmann.


Award Winners


2019: Will Warren

SOY 2019
Coach Aaron Marcovy, Will Warren (holding trophy) with SARA President Doug Rathburn coach Rachel Stanley (right)

2018: Emily Schnittmann

SOY 2018
Emily Schnittmann (holding trophy) with SARA President Doug Rathburn (left) and coaches Rachel Stanley & Aaron Marcovy (right)

2017: Colleen Kennedy & Liam Hoye

SOY 2017
Colleen Kennedy & Liam Hoye with SARA President Doug Rathburn (left) and Head Coach Aaron Marcovy (right)

2016: Masato Miyagi

SOY 2016
SARA VP Dan Bachmann (left) with the winner Masato Miyagi and last year's winners Steph Merlino & Abby Sevier

2015: Abby Sevier & Steph Merlino

SOY 2015
SARA President Doug Rathburn (left), Abby Sevier (middle) & Steph Merlino (right)




Keep Case Crew Afloat!

Make donations with PayPal - it's fast, free and secure!
Send mail to the webmaster with questions or comments about this web site.
Update your information HERE.
© Spartan Alumni Rowing Association
S.A.R.A. is an independent, not for profit 501(c)(3) corporation.
Last modified: March 23, 2019